Painting My First Samurai

It’s time to paint

So it’s time to start getting paint down onto a miniature, have 4 Samurai from the excellent Steel Fist range (see my review here) of 28mm Samurai for our up coming skirmish and finally campaign in 2016.

I have gathered some reference images read a few articles asked for some help made a few arrors and started again after stripping a miniature and I think I have got an idea of how the miniature should look. Well you be the gudge.

I stated off with putting down some base coats, I wanted this one to be red armoured and I am unsure of what colours for the other parts although I had a nice green I wanted to try out. I know “Red and Green should never be seen” is an old saying but I thought it may work If I can add a bright colour to break it up like err Yellow?

Base colours – The Start

IMG-20150518-WA0000

Building up the layers, I realised quickly I should have painted this miniature from the inside out, as it is difficult to get into all the nooks and cranies. I normally paint with a dary undercoat or at least a grey one. Maybe with the next batch I can run an ink wash on all the recesses prior to laying down colour?

Colour Choices

IMG-20150518-WA0005

IMG-20150518-WA0008

IMG-20150518-WA0003

Final steps

I need to add a pattern on the green, hmm what to do? All that lace work, how am going to do that??? Oh well here goes..

IMG-20150518-WA0019

IMG-20150518-WA0017

IMG-20150518-WA0015

IMG-20150518-WA0013

IMG-20150518-WA0021

Finished or Not?

So overall I have fairly happy with it, I like the green and the pattern that worked out well the Yellow works (phew!) not happy with the lace work, need to work on that. More work needed on the feet I think. Worse thing about taking photos of your miniatures is when you see them this large you see all the mistakes and bit’s that need attention!

What are your thoughts? Please share good or bad I don’t mind šŸ™‚

Neil

2 thoughts on “Painting My First Samurai

  1. Nice work. I think it’s ‘ blue and green should not be seen without a colour in-between ‘ so your colour theory on this one was perfect šŸ˜€

    Like

Leave a comment